Mac & Kabocheeze

Mac & Kabocheeze

I could have attempted this vegan macaroni and cheese recipe with sweet potato, acorn squash, or many of the other lovely root vegetables out there…but I felt the need to title it “Mac & Kabocheeze” so kabocha squash it was.

Ingredients:

1 cup baked and mashed kabocha
1 cup water
1 cup nutritional yeast
juice of 1 lemon
1 Tbsp plus one tsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 clove garlic
salt and pepper, to taste
1 bag kelp noodles

Soak the kelp noodles in water for an hour (I used to always skip this step but it’s so worth it!). Blend the remaining ingredients in a food processor and pour over noodles. I threw in a few whole kabocha chunks and some avocado which was quite tasty.

One of my favorite gourmet grocery stores was having a close-out sale recently and had the most amazing sale which practically required a shopping spree. I wasn’t about to turn down the normally too-expensive dark chocolates, and herbal teas, along with some great organic marinara and nori sheets for nearly half the price. Evidence of a good time:

Now go buy yourself some kabocha and whip up some vegan comfort nomz. Happy weekend.

9 Comments

Filed under Potatoes, Squashes, and Starchy Things, Recipes

9 responses to “Mac & Kabocheeze

  1. Sam S

    Holy shizzz this sounds amaazing. I literally just ordered a case of kelp noodles so I am all over this.

  2. Sounds good, although I have never tried kelp noodle the cheeze sauce looks fantastic! I love clearance healthy foods!

  3. Anjali

    Making this tonight! Can’t wait! Sharing it with the family…we’ll see what they think 😉

  4. Pingback: WIAW: September Eats | A Dash Of Meg

  5. Pingback: I bought some squash « Cookies and Crafts

  6. mallory

    how many servings did this make for you?!

    • Rande McDaniel

      Oh I’m so bad at servings and I made this so long ago! I probably ate it on sitting but I can eat a LOT. Maybe 4 average servings?

Leave a NOMment: